On the Radio

At university there’s loads of really amazing opportunities on offer to you. One of these many opportunities is getting involved with UEA radio, Livewire 1350. Being on the radio is pretty exciting, and we also boast past presenters like Radio 1’s Greg James, who was part of Livewire during his time here at UEA.

Two of my friends, Sam and Adam, have a radio show at 9-10.30am on Friday mornings, and last week I was lucky enough to be a guest on their show for one of their new segments, ‘library run’. Competing against two other friends, Ruth and Jecinta, I had to run to the library and try and find the funniest book I could about farmyard animals. I managed to win with a book called ‘Interstellar Pig’, a proud moment indeed! Being on the radio, even briefly, was super exciting, so if you’re interested in media or radio, make sure you check out Livewire if you come to UEA.

I thought I’d do a quick Q&A with Sam and Adam so they can give a bit more of an insight into what it’s like to be part of UEA radio…

How did you get involved with Livewire?

Adam: I saw Livewire at the freshers societies fair and thought it would be something different so signed up and gave a demo show and I was given the breakfast show slot.

Sam: I never actually planned to get involved with Livewire. A flatmate asked me to demo with her and I begrudgingly accepted. One thing lead to another, and now I have been on two different breakfast shows and I am the host of the sports show!

What’s the best part about being on the radio?

Adam: You get to do lots of exciting things and can get involved with a wide range of events. Some people last year helped Greg James broadcast live from Unio (one of our campus cafes) on Radio 1!

Sam: Adam Young. Also the opportunity to create really interesting and fun content.

What’s the worst part about being on the radio?

Adam: Although I love my show, having to get up super early to start at 9am on a Friday is rather tricky!

Sam: Adam Young. Livewire is great but can be nerve-racking at first. However, once you overcome this it can really improve your confidence.

production 2

If you think Livewire is something you might want to get involved in at UEA, make sure you check out their website and twitter. Find out more about Sam and Adam’s show on their Facebook page.

2 thoughts on “On the Radio

  1. Pingback: On the radio…again | Life of a History Student

  2. Pingback: 10 Reasons to Choose UEA | Life of a History Student

Leave a Reply

